2016 Municipal Election Candidates

City of Lauderdale Lakes
Election Date: November 8, 2016

Seats 3. 4, and the position of Mayor-Commissioner will be chosen in the November 8, 2016 General Election.

Mayor-Commissioner (Elected in Blue)

Dr. Edwina Coleman - 7/10/2015
Hazelle P. Rogers - 8/06/2015

Commissioner Seat 3

Veronica Phillips - 8/25/2015
Eileen Rathery - 9/08/2015

Commissioner Seat 4

Paul Martin - 7/13/2015
Sandra Davey - 8/04/2015
Larry G. Striggles - 8/18/2015


Beginning with the election of November, 2014, seat 3 will be eliminated, seats 1, 2, 4, 5 and 6 shall thereafter remain until the general election in November 2016, and from the election of 2014 until the general election of 2016, the city commission shall consist of five (5) members, and, from 2014 until the general election of 2016, there shall be a mayor who shall only vote in the case of an unresolvable tie vote of the city commission. As of the election of November 2016, seat 5 shall be eliminated, and former seat 6 will become seat 3; the remaining seats 1, 2, 4 and 6 shall be reconstituted as seats 1, 2, 3 and 4 beginning with the general election of November 2016. As of the election of 2016, the city commission shall consist of one (1) mayor-commissioner and four (4) commissioners each of whom shall be elected at-large according to seats newly constituted, by the qualified electors of the city at such regular elections called for such purpose, and they shall hold their respective offices during the terms prescribed in section 3.04 hereof. The terms of office of the mayor-commissioner first elected in the November 2016 election and the other commissioners shall be staggered. The commissioners shall continue to be elected by seats. Commencing with the election of November 2016, the position of mayor-commissioner shall be subject to election as provided in Section 3.04 hereof.